Some guy is getting excited.

Well, this is it! In just over a week, I will be travelling to Toronto and then Africa to work with WASH Catalysts this summer! With exams being finished (thank you GOD!), the shift from the academic mindset to an adventurous mindset has proven to be a delayed process. The past few days I have been in a delayed mental state, having received the news that my grandmother passed away. That woman was one of the strongest and most perseverant women I have ever known in my life. She lost her husband and two of her sons before I was born, but she never showed a moment of weakness. She always put on a brave face, and raised some unbelievable kids. When I look at my mother, I see so much of my grandmother in her. While this is definitely a tough moment for my family, we all know that she is in a better place.  A mix of sorrow, excitement, and motivation is what I’m feeling right now. At a time in which we are celebrating my grandmother’s life, I need to continue to prepare for this once in a lifetime trip.

I have not even began to physically pack, but I do feel like I am beginning to be more mentally prepared for this 3 month excursion away from home. While the thought of being in an isolated environment frightens me, it is opportunities like these that allow us to grow as individuals, and truly understand what we are capable of. This is a huge moment in my personal development, and I hope that I will be able to contribute successfully to what WASH is hoping to accomplish. Oh yeah, I just realized that I haven’t given a breakdown of what I will really be doing with WASH Catalysts…. Oops.

As mentioned previously, I will be working with WASH Catalysts and their district water distribution offices in Malawi, Africa. I will be living in the town of Kasungu, which according to Google has a population of approximately 60,000 people. The region is known for having some quality vegetables, which is HUGE for my planned nutrition 🙂 While the first month of my placement will be focusing on getting integrated in the culture and developing a foundational understanding of the situation and the work I will be doing, I hope to get a lot done with WASH this summer 🙂

  • DC Signing off! (Still doesn’t sound right)
Leave a Reply

